Skip to content Skip to footer


Discrimination can occur when you have been treated unfairly because of who you are. The Equality Act 2010 protects you from discrimination and there are nine protected characteristics:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage or civil partnership (in employment only)
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • religion or belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation

The Equality Act protects you if you're treated badly because you have complained about discrimination or stood up for discrimination rights, either for yourself or someone else.

Get in touch for further advice and help if you feel you have been discriminated against.

More information about discrimination can be found here.

If you have experienced discrimination, you can get help from the Equality and Advisory Support Service discrimination helpline here